WOODEN CLOUD

The Architecture of Wishes

Artist Martin Steinert, Curator Elizaveta Shagina

The Museum of the Russian Academy of Fine Arts, Saint-Petersburg, 2016


The project consists of an exhibition at The Russian Academy of Fine Arts Museum and a large-scale installation, which the author creates in the Fine Arts Academy's Garden. Installation by German sculptor Martin Steinert implants a hybrid form of abstract concepts and reality into classical parkland. The wooden structure shaped as a cloud symbolizes the emotions and desires architecture, which, similar to the process of construction of wood, requires grinding the elements of the intangible experience.

Contrasting the accuracy of the mathematical calculation of the architectural forms and the ephemeral substance of human hopes and desires the author works on the contrast of the monumental structure and the fragility of the material, liable to destruction in a natural environment.

"Wooden cloud. The architecture of wishes" is an international travelling site-specific project developed by the sculpture Martin Steinert. Like a cloud, it materializes in different European cities. The installation has been built in Saarbrucken (Germany), in Berlin (Germany), in Paris (France). The project in St. Petersburg was organized in the frameworks of " The Access Point" festival. Wooden pieces, of which the author creates his work, allow people to express themselves. Social media platform, which collects wishes, was created especially for the project. Thus, the installation becomes a collective manifesto of human desires and hopes.

Photo credits: André Mailaender

WOODEN CLOUD

L’architecture des désirs

Artiste Martin Steinert, curatrice Elizaveta Shagina

Musée de l’Académie Russe des Beaux Arts, Saint-Pétérsbourg, 2016



Le projet consiste d’une exposition dans le Musée de l’Académie Russe des Beaux Arts et d’une installation de grande-échelle dans le jardin du Musée. L’installation du sculpteur allemand Martin Steinert implante des formes hybrides de concepts abstraits et réalité dans l’espace d’un parc traditionnel. Les structures en bois en forme de nuage symbolisent l’architecture des émotions et des désirs, qui, dans un processus semblable au travail du bois, requièrent d'être ciselées dans l’expérience intangible.

Jouant sur le contraste entre la précision mathématique du calcul des formes architecturales et la substance éphémère des espoirs et désirs humains, l’artiste construit sa structure monumentale avec des matériaux fragiles, voués à une destruction certaine dans un environnement naturel.

Nuage de bois. L’architecture des désirs est un projet in-situ international et nomade développé par le sculpteur allemand Martin Steinert. Tel un nuage, il se matérialise dans différents points du globe. L’installation a été présentée en Allemagne à Sarrebruck et Berlin et en France à Paris. A Saint-Pétersbourg, le projet a été monté dans le cadre du festival Acces Point. Grâce à une plateforme numérique créée spécifiquement pour ce projet, sur laquelle les gens étaient invités à faire part de leurs espoirs et désirs les plus intimes, l’installation est devenue un manifeste collectif des espoirs humains.

Сrédits photos : André Mailaender