THE MYSTERIOUS GARDEN

Public art exhibition

The Anna Akhmatova Museum's garden, Saint-Petersburg, 2016

 

Open-air exhibition in frames of the Access Point festival of art consists of art objects, installations and performances by contemporary St. Petersburg artists who create their works in the public eye in a city park.

In Friedrich Nietzsche's work "On the Genealogy of Morality" philosophical efforts are compared with the cultivation of the mysterious garden. "The Mysterious Garden" is an unexpected encounter with our own emotions, thoughts and inner silence. "Our treasure is there, where the hives of our knowledge stand" (Nietzsche).

The project involves not only the philosophical concept interpretation by contemporary artists, not just an attempt of materialization of fruits of their own thoughts in the form of public art, but also a new urban space mythologizing, namely the Anna Akhmatova Museum's garden, a new poetic reading of this historical place. Designed specifically for the project, installations become the visual poetry, expressed in a tangible form.

To infiltrate into the garden, hidden from the busy streets, to find the hidden access it is an experience that is comparable to the discovery of the unknown.

Artists : Nadezhda Anfalova, Petr Bely, Semen Motolyanets, Denis Patrakeev, Alexander Podobed, “Sever 7” art-group.

Curator: Elizaveta Shagina

LE JARDIN MYSTÉRIEUX

Art dans l’espace public

Le Musée Anna Akhmatova, Saint-Pétérsbourg, 2016

Une exposition en plein air dans le cadre du festival Access Point dans le jardin du musée Anna Akhmatova. Les artistes contemporains de St. Pétersbourg ont créé leurs œuvres sous les yeux des passants : objets, installations et performances. 

Dans La Généalogie de la morale, Nietzsche compare les efforts du philosophe à la cultivation d’un jardin mystérieux. Le jardin mystérieux est une rencontre inattendue avec nos propres émotions, nos pensées et notre silence intérieur. “Notre trésor est là où bourdonnent les ruches de notre connaissance”.

Ce projet est une tentative d’interprétation du concept philosophique nietzschéen par les artistes contemporains. Non seulement un essai de rendre matériels les fruits de leurs pensées dans une forme d’art public, mais également une mythologisation de l’espace urbain, notamment du jardin du musée Anna Akhmatova, une lecture poétique de ce lieu historique. Les installations in situ deviennent une poésie visuelle, exprimée sous une forme tangible. Pénétrer dans ce jardin bien caché au milieu de la ville bourdonnante est une expérience comparable à la découverte de l’inconnu. 

Artistes : Nadezhda Anfalova, Petr Bely, Semen Motolyanets, Denis Patrakeev, Alexander Podobed, le groupe “Sever 7”.

Commissaire d’exposition: Elizaveta Shagina.